Generation Two – Piper: Chapter Two

by ashpie88

Chapter Two: He Loves Me, He Loves Me Not

There were many nights that I would visit Riverview Chapel and sit in the graveyard with Daddy. I would sit in front of his grave and tell him about how my life was going, how X was doing, how Mom was doing. Since I was the one who had to be strong for the family I also used this time to cry. I would cry harder than anything and I would let all of the pent up emotion out. I wasn’t as strong as I appeared.

On this particular night as I was sitting there I felt like someone else was there too. Usually I’m alone aside from occasional old lady visiting her dead relatives. But they are usually leaving as I’m coming in. I turned around and nearly jumped out of my skin to see legs.

My eyes scanned up to see Dante. It had been a few weeks since I had been to collect Daddy’s award. He smiled at me for a moment, until he caught the tears in my eyes.

He helped me up and gently rubbed my arms. “Hey, it’s okay. What’s wrong?”

I stared at him blankly. “Really? I’m in a graveyard looking at my father’s grave and you are going to ask me that?”

He smirked. “Just trying to break up the tension.”

I sighed. “Why are you here?”

“Oh,” he turned and nodded towards the other side of the graveyard. “my dad actually died in a fire too. He was a firefighter, and that’s why I wanted to be a firefighter.”

I smiled. “That’s kinda sweet.”

The next thing I knew I was crying again and Dante pulled me into a comforting embrace. I sobbed on his shoulder. He had me feel so comfortable and safe in that moment. My heart started to pound faster and I suddenly felt my stomach fluttering.

I quickly pulled away. “I..I have to go!”

“Uh..” He turned to say something but I was already out the gate.

The next morning as I was taking the trash out I noticed a car parked in front of the house. Dante emerged from it. I quickly stuffed the trashbag into the trash can and smiled.

“Hey,” He said “You just ran off last night.”

“Yeah, I just had a lot on my mind.” I sighed.

He rubbed the back of his neck and half-smiled. “Um, well I was going to see if you wanted to go out. Get your mind off things?”

“I don’t know..”

“Come on..” He urged. I nodded and headed towards his car.

“Where are we going?” I asked.

“I know this great park.” He said. “It will be fun. We will have a great time, promise.”

“Okay.”

Dante was right. We went to a lovely park, more built for children than adults but we had fun. He pushed me on the swing for at least a good hour. He told me about his family and where he comes from. He had sad reasons for moving to Riverview. His little sister was kidnapped and murdered which was why his family moved here. It seemed bad luck followed them because his dad died about a year after moving here.

After a while longer on the swings we decided to just talk. He asked questions about me and my past and I answered them.

“Hey, would you like to come over for dinner?” Dante asked out of nowhere.

I smiled. “Yeah, that would be awesome.”

“Okay, well drop by around 7.” He wrote down his address for me before taking me home.

As I rang his door bell and waiting outside for an answer my heart was doing flip flops. I was hoping he was falling for me as quickly as I was. He comforted me, he asked me out on a date, we had acted so much like a couple. I knew it was fast, but I really felt like we were making a connection.

Once we were inside Dante brought me over to a woman that was standing in the corner. I was sure we were going to have dinner alone.

“Piper, I have someone I wanted you to meet.”

“Alright.” I said, following him over to her.

“Piper, this is my fiancee, Violette.”

My heart sank. “Oh..”

“Hello, Piper, it’s so nice to meet you. I hope you like Autumn Salad, Dante is a big salad eater.”

“Speaking of,” Dante said, “I should go prepare it.” With that he went into the kitchen.

I felt like I was dying inside. I really liked this guy and he acted like he liked me and he’s engaged?

One Comment to “Generation Two – Piper: Chapter Two”

  1. Oh no he was such a cutie :/ I can not wait to see where this goes.

Leave a Reply

