Generation Three – Rosalyn : Chapter Two

by ashpie88

Chapter Two: Uh-Oh

The week went along pretty smoothly. Until Wednesday. Mom called Tommy and I to the living room for an “emergency” family meeting.

She sighed, rubbing her neck. “Well kids, there is no easy way to say this…”

“What is it, Mom?” Tommy asked.

I sat in silence. I didn’t like the way Mom looked. No, it wasn’t her expectant belly, it was the way her face looked.

“Gage and I think it would be in the family’s best interest if we moved.”

“Why? I like it here! My friends are here!” I whined.

Tommy was the silent one this time.

“Well, Rosalyn, we are expecting a baby…”

“There is plenty of room for the stupid baby here!” I shrieked.

“Rosalyn Christine!” Mom scolded.

“What?! Gah!” I stormed off  to my room.

I slammed my door and immediately started to cry. I wiped the tears as they fell. I loved this house! I didn’t want to move away. I know Mom had bad memories here, but I’ve had nothing but good and I wasn’t prepared to leave those behind. I got ready for bed and curled into a ball to continue my sobbing.

After about an hour Mom made her way into the room and sat on the bed next me.

“What’s wrong, Rosalyn?” She touched my shoulder.

I ignored her. She was so selfish.

“You know, I think you’d like the house we are looking at. It’s bigger. A two story. Your room would be huge.”

“So?” I choked.

“Well, if you want to pout that’s fine, but you know as well as I that this house is too small, and for the price I would pay for an addition to continue to live in my suffering.”

Oh boy, the guilt trip. Every parents greatest weapon.

Mom got up to leave and I met her for a hug. “I’m sorry, Mom.”

She smiled. “It’s okay, Rosalyn. I love you and I want you to be happy.”

“I want you to be happy too, Mom.”

“Besides, we aren’t moving from Riverview. So you’ll still be near your friends.”

Friday morning came and Lina met me at my house. We started the walk to school and discussed our plan. Lina was convinced that the bartender working at the Le Blanc Wine Bar tonight never I.Ded any one. She was old and pretty easy to fool.

After school we went to my house and did our homework. I hung my head and whispered to Lina.

“Done yet?”

“Mmhmm.”

“Kay, let’s do this.” I stood and put my homework back in my bag, as did Lina.

“Mom, we are gonna go to the library for a project!” I called to the laundry room.

“Alright, don’t be too late!” She called back. That was it. We left for the bar.

When we got there I was extremely nervous. I looked away while Lina ordered.

“Can I get a couple drinks for me and my friend?”

The bartender looked at her. “You don’t look 21.”

“Oh, I am.” She said.

“Hmm..” But it worked and the bartender handed her some drinks.

Lina pulled me off the side. “Here have one.” She offered me a glass.

“I don’t know…”

“Oh, stop being a wimp!” She said, thrusting the drink at me.

I took it and took a drink. I gagged. “This is strong.”

Lina smiled. “Strong is the best. Drink it fast, you’ll get so messed up!”

“Okay…” I said, chugging my drink. She did the same.

But we didn’t count on two things…

Being caught by the police being the most important. Yeah, Lina and I were lead to the squad car by the officer. The bartender called him telling him there was underage drinkers in her bar. Turns out she wasn’t as dumb as Lina thought. I wanted to cry. I could just imagine Mom’s reaction now. She was going to flip!

I was expecting what Mom would do. I was sure she would yell at me. But she attacked Lina.

“How could you drag my daughter into this mess, Lina?”

“I…”

“I’m calling your mother. You are going home right now!”

“But…”

“You are not allowed back over here!”

I was shocked that mom would do that…but before she called Lina’s mom she flipped on me.

“Rosalyn Christine Wintergold! What in the world were you thinking?! I always knew Lina was a bad influence!”

“Mom, she’s not..”

“Oh, don’t even go there! I’m sorry but I’m banning you from her AND you are grounded for the rest of your life!”

Oh boy, I don’t know if it was just mom’s hormones or what but she was crazy. I’d never seen her so angry.

2 Comments to “Generation Three – Rosalyn : Chapter Two”

  1. i think she being to hard on Roaslyn. Nothing good can come from banning a teen from some one. I link your blog on my page because I love your legacy oh so much.

Leave a Reply

