Generation Four – Cheyenne : Chapter Five Part One

by ashpie88

Chapter Five: France Part One

I came out onto the porch unsure what to expect. I traced a finger over my collar bone anxiously. Before too long a man came up onto the porch. I couldn’t help but think Sara had conned me into going on vacation with a stranger. Until the light hit his face, I couldn’t help but tear up.

After a year I was looking at my best friend again! He took a break from college to see me and take me on vacation for my birthday. We hugged and it felt so good to be in his arms, even though they did feel alittle different. He looked different. He had become more handsome, and he had finally tamed the beast he called hair.

He surprised me with lovely yellow roses. “For the best friend a guy could have.” He smiled.

I smelled them and smiled back. “Well thank you, Jason.”

“So how did you like the present from Sara and I?” He glanced back at Sara who was smiling ear to ear.

“This is by far the best birthday present ever. But what about college?”

“I’m on break for the summer.” He took my hand. “Are you ready to travel to France, Mon ami?”

I giggled and hopped up and down. “Yes, yes, yes!”

Now, even though we were adults we were still nerds at heart. So after checking into the inn we went the market place and played some chess by a lovely fountain. We caught up as we played. I hadn’t done much but work on my sculpting and he was always nose deep in a book. He wanted to be a Forensic Analyst. I promised to make him a sculpture for his office when he had one.

The next day we checked out the book store. There were so many wonderful titles to browse through. We spent the whole day browsing and reading. I’m pretty sure the owner was alittle upset with us for not purchasing anything. We really starting setting bad examples for customers to come.

On our last day of vacation we decided to visit the vineyard and make our own wine. Jason had so much fun squishing the grapes and I enjoyed cheering him on, and nowadays the views weren’t bad either. I quickly threw that idea out of my head however.

We sampled both the wine we made and wine that had already been aged. A cute guy caught my eye as we walked by with a tub full of grapes. He smiled at me and I smiled back, before getting another glass of wine.

“This was so much fun, I can’t believe you have to go back tomorrow.” I frowned.

Jason smirked. “I’ll be back again for Christmas.”

“Yeah, but I probably won’t see you. You’ll be splitting your time between your mom and dad.”

“Actually…I’ll be telling my parents that I’m staying at school for the holidays. So I can spend my whole vacation with you.”

Jason was so sweet. He was a great friend and I couldn’t think of a better person I wanted to spend vacation with, well besides that cute grape picker.

Leave a Reply

